The cloud over Mt. Rainier

Lenticular(?) cloud over Mt. Rainier

Lenticular(?) cloud over Mt. Rainier

Clicked while I was flying back to Washington after a long road trip that began and ended at California. This cloud hovered over Mt. Rainier, making a pretty sight. Later, when I was sorting through pictures from the vacation, I looked more into “Cloud + Mt. Rainier“, and I thought it might, just might, be a lenticular cloud. What makes me doubtful these days is the fact that if I think more about it, it ceases to look like one. πŸ˜›

If you’re a cloud expert, you’d know for sure(r)…

8 thoughts on “The cloud over Mt. Rainier

  1. I would say it is a lenticular cloud. Lenticular clouds are very obvious from the ground because they look like a lense hoving over a tall mountain. From the air they look just like another cloud. When I lived in Colorado Springs I would see them often hovering over Pike’s Peak.

    Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

