One Four Challenge: Lamp Post IV – on canvas

Yay! It’s week 4 of January’s One Four Challenge hosted by Robyn, where we process one image of our choosing in 4 different ways over the month. This final week is when I get to show you the original as well, and ask you which, amongst all versions of this month (including the original), you like best. (For other wonderful submissions, check out Robyn’s blog or search for the tag ‘One Four Challenge.’)

Okay, last week’s foggy day effect was considered spooky by a few 😉 so I decided to publish something much less foggy this time — a painting on canvas. To tell you the truth, I had this version ready well before last week’s version, and I was still trying a couple of different versions. I didn’t like them as much as I did this one, so without further ado, here it is —

Lamp Post

Lamp post, on canvas

I’d restrained myself long enough from using edge detection, but for this, I went bonkers! 🙂 Edge detection, works very well in… a painting effect, for instance, if you’re interested in giving the edges that extra definition. For this version, I made a copy of the original image layer. I applied a slight blur on it (so the edges don’t come out crystal clear) and inverted the colors before performing a Sobel edge detection. This layer is in Value mode at 35% opacity. I then applied a canvas texture on the image. A simple process when compared to the past couple of weeks, but simple is good, especially when it achieves the purpose, isn’t it? 🙂

As promised, here’s the original, with some color and contrast correction applied, that I used as the base for this month’s versions.

Lamp Post

Lamp Post, original

To refresh your memory, or for your benefit if you haven’t seen them yet, here are tiny versions of the other edits for this month. Clicking on them will take you to the corresponding posts where I’ve mentioned how those effects came about.

Earlier images this month in this series

Lamp Post - radiating Lamp Post - damaged Lamp Post - foggy day

Do you have a favorite? Would you like to tell me which one?

20 thoughts on “One Four Challenge: Lamp Post IV – on canvas

  1. I really liked the foggy image, it was fabulous. I had to click on this weeks one to see the canvas texture, nice job 🙂

    Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

